Phelps & Cohen Orthodontics

  • (159)

Aug 2020

Review from Erin H.


We have been so pleased with Phelps and Cohen. Their friendly and professional staff have made my son feel comfortable from the start. They are courteous, organized and on time. My son looks forward to going!

Aug 2020

Review from Christy


We love Phelps and Cohen orthodontics. From the friendly and organized staff to the highly knowledgable doctors and assistants, I know that my daughter is in great hands. She actually looks forward to her appointments and is motivated to keep good hygiene as well as take care of her newly installed appliance. Also, she anxiously awaits each appointment - something I never expected!

Aug 2020

Review from Allyson C.


Friendly staff, organized, clean, & helpful. I’m on my phase 2 with one child & just finished my phase 1 with the other. I always recommend Phelps & Cohen to friends.

Aug 2020

Review from Chloe N.


I just got my separators and they do not hurt at all, not even one tiny bit! It's really fun there and they are super friendly. Fantastic place, definitely would recommend it!!

Aug 2020

Review from Raquel M.


We just started the process of a palate expander and I as a nurse was very pleased with the explanation of the process the ability to help with my benefits and do what financially made the most sense considering the use of FSA accounts, insurance ect....The office was organized with their COVID procedures and how they are moving people in and out of the building ...so far we've had a fantastic experience

Aug 2020

Review from Jennifer H.


Excellent staff. They are very efficient and polite. They get you in and out of the office in no time. Would rate 10 stars if I could.

Jul 2020

Review from Aletta G.


Our first consultation went quite well. We are in good hands as we embark on a long journey for the little. Glad to have P&C as our team.

May 2020

Review from Lonia D.


The staff is polite and professional. Dr Cohen is easy to talk to. He explains the process and care at every appointment. He is very knowledgeable and I don't think there isn't an orthodontic problem he can't fix. The office and facilities are ALWAYS clean. I would recommend Dr Cohen and his team to anyone searching for a qualified and competent orthodontist.

Oct 2019

Review from Cmr R.


Dr Cohen is one the kindest most gentle Dentists/orthodontist we have ever worked with. I can't say enough nice things about him my daughter  Wendy needed a little extra TLC during appointments and he has always been kind and efficient and truly cares about his patients. His hygienist and techs are sweet, professional, knowledgeable and gentle.His billing department is fair and efficient.His office is polite,professional, and exceptionally helpful. They have a can do attitude!  I have referred many friends and family members to them. My daughters smile is beautiful and healthy thanks to your  exceptional care! Thank you Dr Cohen and staff for being the amazing at doing what you do and for changing the lives and Heath of the children you help by providing them a happy healthy smile!!!

Oct 2019

Review from Cmr R.


Dr Cohen is one the kindest most gentle Dentists/orthodontist we have ever worked with. I can't say enough nice things about him my daughter Wendy needed a little extra TLC during appointments and he has always been kind and efficient and truly cares about his patients. His hygienist and techs are sweet, professional, knowledgeable and gentle. His billing department is fair and efficient. His office is polite,professional, and exceptionally helpful. They have a can do attitude! I have referred many friends and family members to them. My daughters smile is beautiful and healthy thanks to your exceptional care! Thank you Dr Cohen and staff for being the amazing at doing what you do and for changing the lives and Heath of the children you help by providing them a happy healthy smile!!!

Oct 2019

Review from Heather C.


Having my kids come here for braces, it's no wonder this place gets such great reviews!  Very excellent care with a great team of talented staffs and doctors.

Oct 2019

Review from Asya I.


Two of my kids have been coming here for years. They had impacted crooked teeth and now they don't. This method was less invasive and painful than my daughters' friends  - no crazy devices for day and night, just regular braces that did a miracle to my girls' smiles. Recommend to anyone!

Oct 2019

Review from Steven H.


Everyone here is very friendly, professional, welcoming and nice to deal with. I've never had braces done before so I came here after seeing that they offer damon braces and due to their high ratings. I also went to 3 other orthodontics to get different opinions. This was the only place that offered full xrays along with a very detailed in-depth explanation by Dr. Cohen. The consultation was free and Dr. Cohen explained everything in detail and walks you through his thought process. I found that very helpful and reassuring as he pretty much was walking me through everything. My case is a bit tougher and he gave me different opinions and solutions. Along with the pros and cons to each one.I went to three other orthos and they all pretty much said they will have to pull 4 teeth to make room. Dr. Cohen was the only one that said upfront that he doesn't prefer to pull teeth and that for my case it will not be worth the bone loss. I had full trust in Dr. Cohen even though the price is higher but it's definitely worth it. I just got my top braces put on so I can't say much for the results but I have my trust in Dr. Cohen in that they will turn out great. I also appreciate it very much that he offered me the new Vpro+ and all he wanted back in return was feedback. I am glad that I went here for my braces and I wouldn't have chose another place!

Sep 2019

Review from Zohal N.


Getting braces in your twenty's is not fun but Dr. Cohen was awesome, happy with the results. Def would recommend.

Sep 2019

Review from Sunil R.


Dr Cohen is amazing! He is so good at what he does and really cares. He came in on a Sunday to work with us even though he did not have to. And...he has a great sense of humor. Two thumbs way up!!

Sep 2019

Review from Matt N.


My kids just stated going here . The staff is so friendly. I have called and made adjustment to my appointment as things always come up , and they are so accommodating. They are super friendly. The staff has done a great job in teaching and training us parents on how this how process works . It’s a big 2 year commitment so you definitely need a great supportive cast on your side .

Aug 2019

Review from Cindy L.


On time with our appointment. Clearly outlines the work needing to be done. The offices were in perfect welcoming condition. Totally customer focused and super modern!

Jul 2019

Review from Arthur C.


Excellent orthodontics office. Brought my 15yo to get braces here on a recommendation and it was a great recommendation. The staff is always so nice and considerate. They are very good at information sharing and accommodating any special needs that may arise. Bottom line I love this orthodontist and highly recommend them.

May 2019

Review from Jesus M.


My son had been asking about braces for a while now. I visited a few offices and was really impressed by the dr.s and his staff. Unlike other offices I was given an end to end tour. My son had a fairly large gap in his front teeth, which made it difficult to get him to smile and show his pearly whites! 6 months in and boom no more gap, I don't think I have ever seen him smile the way he does now! He now looks forward to each appointment as he sees improvements every week!

Apr 2019

Review from Shante R.


Best orthodontist ever! They are the first that I have ever seen that look at the air way to make sure that your  ability to breathe wont effect your teeth over time once you get your braces off

Mar 2019

Review from Heather D.


Thus far appointments and treatment have been effortless and pain free! P&C operates like a very well oiled machine!!

Mar 2019

Review from MizzAdri A.


My daughter and son have gotten their braces here and the service has been amazing. My daughter had to have jaw surgery in combination with her braces, her surgery was Monday and today we received beautiful flowers from Her Dentist!!! It was such a nice gesture and this made her day , she loved them. Thank you for your wonderful service !! You go above and be beyond with your patient care and we really appreciate it.

Feb 2019

Review from Nainoa E.


I love all the staffs there at Phelps and Cohen in San Jose, they make you feel soooo welcoming and comfortable. I am soo blessed to have the opportunity to have them work on my teeth and correct my overbite. Thank you so much! FIVE STARS ALL DAY EVERYDAY.

Feb 2019

Review from Evil S.


Very professional, well organized, and they communicate clearly. I can't tell yet about the results, we're just getting started.

Feb 2019

Review from Brian C.


I had Invisalign treatment with Dr Cohen and I had a great experience. The entire process was much easier than expected. The staff was friendly and attentive. As soon as I show up to my appointment I was taken back to the chair and treatment was started promptly. Dr Cohen is always friendly. He listened to my concerns and questions and addressed them thoroughly. I had a lot of crowding in my lower front teeth. Wearing the trays was an effort in the beginning but I quickly got used to them. I am now done! The results are excellent! If you are looking for highest level of orthodontic care I would recommend this practice. Thanks to Dr Cohen, Dr Phelps, and the assistants who treated me including Stephanie, Margarette, and Terri. And of course the laddies at the front Zoe and Robin.

Jan 2019

Review from Daniel Z.


I want to express my gratitude and endorsement for Phelps & Cohen Orthodontics. Their clinic is one that is considerate and helpful, even to complete strangers in need of help. In 2017, I had the misfortune of breaking my retaining wire on a plane ride to the bay area. Needless to say, I was in a difficult situation, being thousands of miles from my regular orthodontist with a wire that needed to be fixed immediately. I contacted local orthodontists when I landed, and Phelps & Cohen was not only willing to admit me as a temporary patient without hassle, but also repaired my retainer cement for free. This experience took less than an hour, saved me what could have been hundreds of dollars, and saved my trip. I think Phelps & Cohen represents the best of the orthodontic industry. Realistically, people move around after they have braces and will not have access to their original clinic. I hope all orthodontic clinics will follow their example, thus building a network of support across the country so that anyone with braces who needs help can get it. I hope my own clinic would help one of Phelps & Cohen's patients they way they helped me.

Dec 2018

Review from Michelle P.


Dr. Phelps and Cohen and their whole team are always so efficient and patient! I went here for my braces and my brother went a few years after because we've had such a great experience with them.

Oct 2018

Review from Lauren L.


Dr. Le and the entire Phelps & Cohen staff are THE BEST. When my dentist recommended I look into getting orthodontic work, Dr. Le spent a great deal of time helping me understand exactly why and explaining my different options. I ended up going with Invisalign, which Dr. Le and team did a great job administering.Not only are Dr. Le and team are hyper knowledgeable and competent, they are incredibly understanding and accommodating. They truly have their patients' best interests at heart (rather than just treating patients like a means to make a living). The office itself is incredibly well-run and friendly and make it very easy to schedule and remember appointments. I cannot recommend Dr. Le and Phelps & Cohen enough. If you or someone you love needs orthodontic work, you'd be silly not to go to Phelps & Cohen first :)

Sep 2018

Review from Lucky M.


I was seen by Doctor Tran and Doctor Phelps for 3 years.  They are both very knowledgeable, experienced, and caring.  My teeth are straight and my TMJ problem is under control.  Dr. Tran is so sweet and courteous .   The staff is professional and is highly trained.  Their processes are streamlined. The place runs like a well oiled machine indeed.  This is practice embodies Excellence !

Apr 2018

Review from Adria O.


can't believe how fast my kids teeth are moving!  Each visit is so fun the kids always look forward to them.

Apr 2018

Review from Tiffany T.


My orthodontist is two hours away, and I had an emergency where I needed to trim down my wire that's been poking me all week. Thank you to Dr. Cohen himself, and his staff for accommodating me today! I called, got myself an appointment within an hour, and I was in and out the office :) Thank you so much again!

Apr 2018

Review from Elena V.


We are very satisfied with the treatment received at Phelps & Cohen Ortho clinic.When all other doctors we visited at the very beginning said we need to pull my daughters 2 side teeth prior to treatment, Dr. Cohen was the only one who agreed to treat without pulling. After year and half the phase one is over and the treatment was successful!!! Definitely awesome doctor and awesome personnel! We felt always welcomed during our visits. Highly recommend!

Mar 2018

Review from Gg O.


Love this place customer service and quality of care has been a good experience. The orthodontist and the staff are very caring

Mar 2018

Review from Menchu M.


Never disappointed with them! Customer service is awesome, coffee, tea, water at your service is just a great gesture that they care for their patients and family! Keep it up!!

Feb 2018

Review from Margaret C.


I don't know how this office got my 12 year old daughter excited about braces but they did! My daughter had her braces on for almost 2 years. She had such a fun experience there. They gave her a kit with a Jamba Juice gift card when she got them on and then a goodie bag of stuff she couldn't eat with braces( popcorn, gum and gummies bears) the day she had her braces removed. Staff was awesome. I seriously will miss them! Oh and my daughter's teeth are beautiful!!!!

Jan 2018

Review from Dale D.


I wish every medical institution was as professional and organized as these guys.  Not to mention FRIENDLY!

Jan 2018

Review from David W.


Just talked to Robin with trying to get a consult in.  They're super busy and popular! Booked out basically until the end of the month.  However, she was super patient and nice and found something for me in 2 weeks.  Very appreciative!This is starting off on the right foot! ^_^

Aug 2017

Review from Alicia R.


Where do I start this ortho office is amazing. The atmosphere is inviting and fun. This office is very high tech, modern, and clean.You can tell they all enjoy what they do. The assistants in the back are very knowledgeable and have great people skills. My kids are both in treatment here. They look forward to their appointments.They like the rewards program and earning points. The girls and doctors are very detailed oriented and take pride in their work.I appreciate that they take the time to listen to our concerns and answer are questions. What are you waiting for give them a call! I wouldn't send my family, friends, or patients any where else.

Jul 2017

Review from Tresha G.


It's probably been 10 years since Phelps & Cohen first treated me, but I visited recently for some upkeep, and the office and staff were somehow even more professional and delightful than I remembered. Especially Dr. Cohen!

Jul 2017

Review from Jenna E.


They gave me a free replacement retainer when I accidentally left mine behind at a restaurant and it was thrown out when the table was cleared.Back when I had braces, they listened when I said I was freaked out about cutting the wire while it was in my mouth and started measuring it with the old wire and cutting it outside of my mouth, which probably made things take longer for them but I felt much better.And, like many have mentioned, they use newer techniques so I did not have to have any teeth removed before my braces. I had a palate expander instead.

Jul 2017

Review from Gwen R.


They gave me a free replacement retainer when I accidentally left mine behind at a restaurant and it was thrown out when the table was cleared.Back when I had braces, they listened when I said I was freaked out about cutting the wire while it was in my mouth and started measuring it with the old wire and cutting it outside of my mouth, which probably made things take longer for them but I felt much better.And, like many have mentioned, they use newer techniques so I did not have to have any teeth removed before my braces. I had a palate expander instead.

Jun 2017

Review from Maria A.


Great office with exceptional care and staff. Highly recommend!

Jun 2017

Review from Moss F.


In every way, outstanding. Phelps and Cohen has been a very pleasant experience for our family. The office staff are always friendly and professional. Not once in over two years were we seen late. Kids get to participate in the check in process via a touch screen in the lobby. These folks don't miss a beat. The office is beautiful and has a very positive vibe. The orthodontists are knowledgeable, gentle and very positive.  My son's smile is amazing and we are so impressed with the outcome. I highly recommend Phelps and Cohen.

May 2017

Review from Kat S.


Beginning ortho plan for my 8 year old.  Staff is great and we have had a great experience so far.  Thank you!

May 2017

Review from Nainoa E.


Apr 2017

Review from Angie Z.


I visited about two days ago with my mother for a second opinion about my braces and Dr. Phelps was extremely helpful. He gave us all the options and explained the process and outcomes of each. Previously we had spent more than 5k on Invisalign which did not actually move my teeth. Dr. Phelps was visibly upset about this and gave us ways to get our money back like contacting the Dental Society. He was extremely nice and I recommend him for everyone!

Mar 2017

Review from Atoosa S.


Dr. Cohen is da bomb! He cares so much about his patients. With me, he did the impossible. I had a narrow upper jaw due to congenital cleft palate. After having a SARPE surgery, he worked with me to expand my upper jaw. After my second jaw surgery, a LeFort I, he straightened my teeth perfectly. I have just gotten my braces off. He polished my teeth white. I was planning to do a whitening treatment. I don't need to any more.I can't stop looking at myself in the mirror. I always dreamed of looking this good, but never really expected it to happen. The office is clean and filled with supplies. It runs like a well-oiled machine. Every staff member in this office is sweet, kind, and well trained. They sent me flowers after my second surgery. This is one of the best businesses I've ever seen. I cannot recommend Phelps and Cohen enough!I should also mention, the office sent me flowers while I was recovering from surgery, and presented me with a congratulatory bag of candy and popcorn when they took my braces off. So awesome!

Jan 2017

Review from Holly M.


We are very pleased with Dr. Phelps and Cohen!  We looked at several places before deciding on a orthodontist.  The office and staff are very kind, and welcoming.  In addition, everything was explained to us in great detail.  We are always seen on time or early, which is nice.  The office is run extremely smoothly, and is always clean and tidy.

Dec 2016

Review from Four P.


If you're asking yourself why a place has consistently 5 star reviews... stop.  Don't question anymore.  Just realize that this is the place to go.  Dr.  Phelps and Dr. Cohen and the team are so accommodating, kind and skilled.  Don't consider any other orthodontist.  You've found the place to go.

Sep 2016

Review from Mona O.


My visit to Phelps & Cohen was probably the best/most helpful dentist/doctor/ortho visit I've ever had. First of all, the consultation was free. Dr. Cohen and his assistant gave me a lot of attention and time, even though we discovered at the start of my appt that they didnt accept my insurance. I couldnt have asked for a better experience. I left with all the answers I needed.

Sep 2016

Review from M N.


My visit to Phelps & Cohen was probably the best/most helpful dentist/doctor/ortho visit I've ever had. First of all, the consultation was free. Dr. Cohen and his assistant gave me a lot of attention and time, even though we discovered at the start of my appt that they didnt accept my insurance. I couldnt have asked for a better experience. I left with all the answers I needed.

Sep 2016

Review from LaTrece J.


This team is amazing. I was 25 when I got my braces and all I wanted was to get them off as soon as possible. I was probably the most impatient patient they had. But Dr. Le and team were great at telling me all the options I had. I decided to choose the Damon System along with the use of Acceledent. Although the price was significantly higher than traditional braces, I was determined to have the best results in the shortest period my teeth allowed. Even after seeing results within the first 4 months, I didn't think everything was fast enough. But after the first few appointments, I actually looked forward to chatting it up with the team (much more than the adjustments). Wonderful group of ladies (and gentleman).Fast forward 22 months later and my braces are finally off as of Monday.  When I looked in the mirror that night, I got tears because I have never had the beautiful smile that I have now and no words can explain the confidence that I have now.I now know when someone is looking at my face, they aren't staring at my crooked teeth. They are looking at my amazing smile and none of that would have been possible without the team at Phelps and Cohen.I would recommend them to anyone contemplating on improving their smile and regaining that confidence.

Aug 2016

Review from Stephanie S.


Aug 2016

Review from Jalitaa C.


Aug 2016

Review from Mohit G.


Dr. Cohen is great at treating patients.

Aug 2016

Review from Nicole C.


Aug 2016

Review from T M.


Aug 2016

Review from Sarah S.


Dr. Phelps and Cohen both were very good with my son with High Functioning Autism. Their patience and calm demeanor were greatly appreciated. The support staff was also highly effective in dealing with his strong opinions and offered sage advice in a warm and friendly way! Braces are off today, and my son has beautiful straight teeth! Thank you Phelps and Cohen Orthodontics!!!

Aug 2016

Review from Rebecca G.


This review has been long overdue. Dr. Cohen has been so amazing. He has been working with my son Brian since phase 1, which he is now in phase 2. There has been a lot going on with his teeth which has even required surgery at one point. Dr. Cohen has made everything so easy and comfortable. I truly feel and see he has love and desire for his work. The staff is also amazing. Very friendly and accommodating. The atmosphere makes you feel like your at home. Very family oriented.

Jun 2016

Review from Jill S.


The best ortho is soutbay.   My daughter was very nervous and anxious about getting braces.  After her exam, they found something strange with her jaw (wasn't closing properly) and recommended the dreaded headgear.  They never were pushy about it, said it was our choice.  They did an outstanding job making my daughter comfortable and at ease with transition to braces/headgear.  The headgear wasn't a big deal at all,my daughter got used to it very quick.Everyone is really nice here, the finance person, the front desk gals are very charming and nice too.  Seems like everyone goes here, so many neighbors and friends.  We actually saw my daughter's math teacher there today too lol.  Especially like how they always got us in when one of her brackets was loose .  She got her braces off today and her teeth are beautiful.  Thank you Phelps & Cohen!

Apr 2016

Review from Julie S.


Drs. Phelps and Cohen have been working with my teenage son on his orthodontics.  They have been outstanding.  My son's smile looks terrific.  I always felt that they were offering me their best professional opinion in regard to treatment.  When there were decisions to be made, they always took the time to explain our options. Orthodontic work is an investment, but this office is the best.  I referred a friend's daughter who had a bad experience elsewhere and they were able to fix the problems that others had caused.  My friend was really appreciative of the referral.The staff is always friendly and responsive.  On all levels - quality of work, quality of service, and professionalism I give them the highest rating.

Feb 2016

Review from Cheryl W.


My daughter and I can't say enough about Dr. Phelps and staff. They are thoughtful in their communications with both parents and kids, they are respectful to both parents and kids, they have great follow through, and they are prompt. We love them!

Jan 2016

Review from Hannah B.


My daughter just picked up her Invisalign today and I am so impressed!! They fit her perfectly ...I couldn't even tell she had them on! We had to run an errand after and a lady at the reception desk said, "Look at that beautiful smile!" I am also extremely impressed by how the Phelps & Cohen team works like a well oiled machine. I let my daughter (16) choose the orthodontist after researching three & I think she made a fantastic choice :)

Jan 2016

Review from Leah R.


Phelps and Cohen is a wonderful orthodontist office. My son has had wonderful results and the staff is very friendly.

Jan 2016

Review from Christine R.


This is my second child getting braces at Phelps and Cohen and both times the staff is super friendly, helpful and patient. They always accommodated my hectic schedule and were understanding every time the dog chewed up an Invisalign try! Thank you again to such a great experience!

Jan 2016

Review from Felipe R.


It may be a small wait to get an appointment, but well worth the effort as this team is worth the wait. The Orthodontists here are awesome and show great care for their patients and I just cant say enough or thank them enough for the care they are giving my kids. Pluses: The professionalism from every single staff member and the Dr's themselves, cleanliness of the facility, and for parents Wi-Fi in the waiting room area.

Jan 2016

Review from Yvonne W.


I liked how Dr. Phelps had me watch what he was doing to help my daughters two front teeth. He even drew out a sketch for me to understand!

Jan 2016

Review from Chris P.


Both staff and orthodontist are great! Always punctual and efficient appointments.

Jan 2016

Review from Laura H.


We love Phelps and Cohen! Their office ALWAYS runs on time, and everyone who has ever worked with my daughter with her braces has been friendly, kind, and gentle. Dr. Cohen has worked with my daughter more than anyone, and he is great with kids AND adults-- he explains things well and never rushes you out to get to the next patient. My son will be a patient here soon, and he has no fear after coming to his sister's appointments!

Jan 2016

Review from Nicki B.


Very efficient orthodontist office, making great use of the latest technology for scheduling and being able to attend to many patients at the same time. Dr. Cohen is great and talks with you regarding progress and/or answering questions during every visit, and because of his notation, remembers the smallest of details about you and your child. I especially enjoy the fact that they have an incentive program for the kids and that they are very gentle and caring, quite a different experience compared to when I had braces 30 years ago! These guys are great!

Jan 2016

Review from Annette C.


The staff at Phelps & Cohen are amazing! They are always on time which is rare these days. The office is very pleasant and clean. Everyone is very professional. I also get reminders which are very helpful. I feel like my daughters get the best care possible. My youngest had an expander put in for a cross bite and after about four months this has bee completely corrected. Dr. Phelps is such a very kind man and I feel that we are so blessed to have him as our orthodontist. I would HIGHLY recommend this office.

Nov 2015

Review from Theresa M.


Office and staff are extremely welcoming. It's clean and great professionalism. Everything was explained to me on great detail; no pressure. My only concern was my insurance because I was told I did not have coverage and considered out of pocket expenses. Looked up my insurance and I have 1500 and then 50% co-insurance; so I'll need to discuss that with the office staff. Otherwise wonderful experience.They give you Options on how you'd like to be reminded of appointments: email, text and phone call. I highly recommend this office to any and everyone.

Nov 2015

Review from Theresa M.


Office and staff are extremely welcoming. It's clean and great professionalism. Everything was explained to me on great detail; no pressure. My only concern was my insurance because I was told I did not have coverage and considered out of pocket expenses. Looked up my insurance and I have 1500 and then 50% co-insurance; so I'll need to discuss that with the office staff. Otherwise wonderful experience. They give you Options on how you'd like to be reminded of appointments: email, text and phone call. I highly recommend this office to any and everyone.

Sep 2015

Review from Alyssa W.


I had to get braces a second time around because I was dumb in high school, and didn't wear my retainers. I got a consultation with 3 different orthos before I decided on Phelps & Cohen. Out of the 3, they were the most expensive, but it was worth it. Dr. Cohen was the one I worked with. From the beginning, he was very straightforward in explaining everything to me, giving me the pros and cons with his honest professional experience, and was open to all the questions I asked. Out of the 3, he was the one I felt like I can trust the most. Their office is also very clean, very neat, and very professional. I decided to go with Phelps & Cohen because of those reasons. Also, you get a slight discount if you pay everything upfront instead of a payment plan. I would suggest that if you can afford to do so. This is literally the first Dr's practice I've been at where my appointments were always consistently ON TIME. HUGE plus. Every other doctors and dentists office I've ever been to, I've always have to wait even though I always show up on time. With Phelps & Cohen, the receptionists are always smiling, have great attitudes, and I always get seen within 5-10 minutes of walking in. Dr. Cohen does a great job of explaining what he is doing and why, so I always felt at ease. After my braces finally came off and I got my retainers, I had a cavity filled which slightly altered the shape my teeth, making the plastic retainers not fit anymore. They were generous enough to see me to make a mold and gave me a set of retainers free of charge, even though it wasn't their fault that my retainers didn't fit anymore. I was actually almost sad that I don't have to go back! Now I just have to find a dentist with the same professionalism.

Sep 2015

Review from Vanessa V.


i cant say enough good things about this place! The Drs and staff know their stuff! Very nice and patient and truly care about you/for you. I recommended them to anyone i talk to thats interested in braces. Im so glad i found them!! Dont hesitate to make that phone call for a consultation, you will not regret it!

Sep 2015

Review from Alyssa W.


I had to get braces a second time around because I was dumb in high school, and didn't wear my retainers. I got a consultation with 3 different orthos before I decided on Phelps & Cohen. Out of the 3, they were the most expensive, but it was worth it. Dr. Cohen was the one I worked with. From the beginning, he was very straightforward in explaining everything to me, giving me the pros and cons with his honest professional experience, and was open to all the questions I asked. Out of the 3, he was the one I felt like I can trust the most. Their office is also very clean, very neat, and very professional. I decided to go with Phelps & Cohen because of those reasons. Also, you get a slight discount if you pay everything upfront instead of a payment plan. I would suggest that if you can afford to do so.This is literally the first Dr's practice I've been at where my appointments were always consistently ON TIME. HUGE plus. Every other doctors and dentists office I've ever been to, I've always have to wait even though I always show up on time. With Phelps & Cohen, the receptionists are always smiling, have great attitudes, and I always get seen within 5-10 minutes of walking in. Dr. Cohen does a great job of explaining what he is doing and why, so I always felt at ease. After my braces finally came off and I got my retainers, I had a cavity filled which slightly altered the shape my teeth, making the plastic retainers not fit anymore. They were generous enough to see me to make a mold and gave me a set of retainers free of charge, even though it wasn't their fault that my retainers didn't fit anymore. I was actually almost sad that I don't have to go back! Now I just have to find a dentist with the same professionalism.

Sep 2015

Review from Alyssa W.


I had to get braces a second time around because I was dumb in high school, and didn't wear my retainers. I got a consultation with 3 different orthos before I decided on Phelps & Cohen. Out of the 3, they were the most expensive, but it was worth it. Dr. Cohen was the one I worked with. From the beginning, he was very straightforward in explaining everything to me, giving me the pros and cons with his honest professional experience, and was open to all the questions I asked. Out of the 3, he was the one I felt like I can trust the most. Their office is also very clean, very neat, and very professional. I decided to go with Phelps & Cohen because of those reasons. Also, you get a slight discount if you pay everything upfront instead of a payment plan. I would suggest that if you can afford to do so.This is literally the first Dr's practice I've been at where my appointments were always consistently ON TIME. HUGE plus. Every other doctors and dentists office I've ever been to, I've always have to wait even though I always show up on time. With Phelps & Cohen, the receptionists are always smiling, have great attitudes, and I always get seen within 5-10 minutes of walking in. Dr. Cohen does a great job of explaining what he is doing and why, so I always felt at ease. After my braces finally came off and I got my retainers, I had a cavity filled which slightly altered the shape my teeth, making the plastic retainers not fit anymore. They were generous enough to see me to make a mold and gave me a set of retainers free of charge, even though it wasn't their fault that my retainers didn't fit anymore. I was actually almost sad that I don't have to go back! Now I just have to find a dentist with the same professionalism.

Aug 2015

Review from Alin C.


THE BEST ORTHODONTIST Always accommodatingAlways on timeSuper knowledgeable Beyond kid friendly

Aug 2015

Review from Alin C.


THE BEST ORTHODONTIST Always accommodating Always on time Super knowledgeable Beyond kid friendly

Jul 2015

Review from Mary R.


Dr. Phelps and his staff are amazing. Everyone is so friendly and efficient. Dr. Phelps has a great way with kids and my daughter looks forward to her orthodontist appointments. His treatment planning is thorough and individualized and I appreciated the time he took to explain everything. His office is clean, modern and comfortable. Highly recommend!

Jul 2015

Review from Mary R.


Dr. Phelps and his staff are amazing. Everyone is so friendly and efficient. Dr. Phelps has a great way with kids and my daughter looks forward to her orthodontist appointments. His treatment planning is thorough and individualized and I appreciated the time he took to explain everything. His office is clean, modern and comfortable.Highly recommend!

Jun 2015

Review from John S.


I went in for a consult and saw Dr. Jason Cohen. My issue was not necessary for a misaligned teeth, but instead to fix a complicated issue created by a periodontist. Dr. Cohen took the time to review all my information regarding my case and decided that ortho wouldn't correct the issue. I was shocked as he could have easily said "yes" and taken my money, but this just goes to show the honesty of Dr. Cohen and his office. In regards to the office, it was a wonderful experience with the staff and I would highly recommend Phelps & Cohen Orthodontics. I am glad I went to Dr. Cohen and very happy with his honesty; he's a great guy!!

May 2015

Review from Debbie M.


Dr. Phelps and his staff are outstanding! Every visit exceeds our expectations. Any questions are explained and everyone is always so friendly. Highly recommend Phelps & Cohen to all of our friends and family.

Apr 2015

Review from Stephen H.


I recently investigated orthodontics after having been recommended to do so by my general dentist. Although I had spoken with other orthodontists prior to Dr. Phelps, he easily stands head and shoulders above the rest. In contrast to the other Drs that I had consulted, who were only too quick to propose 'solutions' and quote prices, Dr. Phelps presented a calm and considered approach to my particular case. It was clear to me from the outset that the focus of his efforts were to find the correct treatment for my case, regardless of whether such treatment would be to his advantage. Over the space of a couple of weeks, Dr. Phelps was instrumental in helping both my general dentist and I better understand the situation with my bite, and was extremely helpful in referring me to a specialist that works in this area. The problem is now resolved, but it would not have been had it not been for the help of Dr. Phelps. It became clear to me that Dr. Phelps is a very thorough, genuine and caring individual. Not only was it clear to me from our discussions, but it could be seen in the way that he interacted with his staff. Rarely do I write reviews, however in this case I will make an exception. If you need an orthodontist, Dr. Phelps is your man.

Mar 2015

Review from Giovanna R.


Definitely awesome service! I just got my braces on today so words cannot explain how excited I am to finally get them! Sarah is great with explaining the finances and Dr. Phelps is so kind and accommodating. Margarette (sorry if I misspelled it) is the best dental assistant ever!! She is extremely nice. I wish we could duplicate her. She is the best! Hands down. She is new to Cali but you would never know. I hope she is the one to always assist when I go there again. Anyways, I definitely recommend these guys

Mar 2015

Review from Giovanna R.


Definitely awesome service! I just got my braces on today so words cannot explain how excited I am to finally get them! Sarah is great with explaining the finances and Dr. Phelps is so kind and accommodating. Margarette (sorry if I misspelled it) is the best dental assistant ever!! She is extremely nice. I wish we could duplicate her. She is the best! Hands down. She is new to Cali but you would never know. I hope she is the one to always assist when I go there again. Anyways, I definitely recommend these guys!

Feb 2015

Review from Teresa M.


My son recently started his treatment at the end of December with Dr. Cohen. Before treatment was started I was a bit "needy" in requests that I needed to submit to my employer. They went above and beyond to get things done. Everyone has been very pleasant when we go into the office and when I've had to call by phone. They also offer very affordable payment plans if needed. I used my flex card and insurance to take care of it so I don't forget to pay. Although my son just started treatment here, I have seen their amazing results on previous patients. In this short amount of time I have even seen a difference with my son's teeth. I'm pleased with the service and care. Wish I would have used them for myself.

Feb 2015

Review from Carrie B.


I relocated from Portland, Oregon, with my grill still in place. I moved 2 weeks before they were ready to come off, but my orthodontist in Portland would not remove them before I escaped. There was no way I could get back up to Portland for the debanding and retainer from California. I found Phelps and Cohen on Yelp. The reviews said it all. And, they proved to be true. I had a great experience coming here for the debanding and retainers. It can be difficult to move to a different orthodontist in the middle of braces, because each office does something different. But, they took it all in stride, and I feel like the aftercare from here on out will be great. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and Dr. Phelps and Dr. Cohen are really wonderful practitioners who care for their patients and want everyone to end up with a stunning smile. Just being in the office as a patient I watched them act great with all the teenagers and parents. I would highly recommend them. Its a bustling office and they do good work and take pride in their service to patients. I also had some minor insurance issues, and they worked with me as I struggled with my dental provider. It made it all relatively painless.

Feb 2015

Review from Brea R.


Phelps & Cohen are great! Their office is clean, and their staff are friendly and helpful. It seems like service is seamless, from the consultation by sales staff to the technicians at the chair and the day when braces are removed. I have been through two phase ones and one phase two with my girls ortho work. I will definitely be back for the second phase two.

Dec 2014

Review from ft e.


5 stars are a no brainer here.  My son has been going to Dr Phelps for over a year in order to correct an overbite.  Thus far he's been treated with head gear, braces, and now is wearing a retainer.  The progress has been amazing to watch.  There were alternate opinions from other doctors as to how my son's case should have been treated, and in the end I'm just extremely thankful I put my trust in Dr Cohen and Dr Phelps - who have both advised.  Their plan has worked perfectly.As well, I'd like to give high praise to the office staff, who is always cheerful, helpful, and responsive.  They are just great to deal with.So, all around, this office is simply top notch.

Nov 2014

Review from Michelle R.


My son has been going to his office for the last year. The location is nice and clean. The staff is very nice, Robin the receptionist is by far my favorite staff member. There was one receptionist (blond, younger) who works there part-time and she is not very friendly nor welcoming. I avoid her every time like the plague. Both doctors are nice and the quality of work thus far has been great! I would highly recommend this location because you get two doctors who produce quality work. My son rotates from seeing either doctor which is also a plus!

Oct 2014

Review from Antonietta S.


Great service, great atmosphere and great care. Always professional and friendly. I'm so happy to be a patient of Phelps and Cohen.

Oct 2014

Review from D C.


Dr. Phelps and his team are awesome! Can't say enough good things about this office! Our older daughter saw an ortho in Los Gatos and their service (and her smile :( )doesn't remotely compare with the genuine team in the Phelps-Cohen offices. The service we've received from Dr. Phelps personally is above and beyond anything I would have expected. Our younger daughter is getting her braces off earlier than planned! They definitely under promise and over deliver! Our son is due for braces next and there is no other place I would even consider! Technologically friendly reminders, rewards programs for the kids, a CLEAN, friendly, modern environment - it's all good! Thanks so much Dr. Phelps!

Sep 2014

Review from Ft e.


5 stars are a no brainer here. My son has been going to Dr Phelps for over a year in order to correct an overbite. Thus far he's been treated with head gear, braces, and now is wearing a retainer. The progress has been amazing to watch. There were alternate opinions from other doctors as to how my son's case should have been treated, and in the end I'm just extremely thankful I put my trust in Dr Cohen and Dr Phelps - who have both advised. Their plan has worked perfectly. As well, I'd like to give high praise to the office staff, who is always cheerful, helpful, and responsive. They are just great to deal with. So, all around, this office is simply top notch.

Sep 2014

Review from Roy T.


These folks are the best. Very nice office staff. Drs. Phelps and Cohen are always pleasant and do a through job. No wonder their waiting room is always full. The office is very modern and very inviting. If you need orthodontic care, this is the practice to choose.

Sep 2014

Review from Kim L.


Phelps & Cohen Orthodontics definitely deserves 5 stars. This place has completely exceeded my expectations. Thanks to Yelp, I found this gem. It was the 5 star reviews that this place had already received, and I am happy to be another happy reviewer! After being misled about my teeth and their treatment, I wanted to come to an orthodontist office that I could trust with my time and my money. Previously, I had wasted over $6K and 6 years with someone who promised me my teeth could be corrected with Invisalign. WRONG. This is where Phelps & Cohen come in. First, I wanted to state that it is very evident that this business only hires completely professional and sincerely nice individuals. This is truly an all-star team! Even when I call the office, the receptionists are so pleasant, and I could hear Elena talking with a smile when I called. I come from a customer service background, and these things make a huge impression! I have yet to come to this office and have an unpleasant experience. Also, when your appointment is at 2:30PM, it is ACTUALLY at 2:30PM. The business strives to be timely and punctual. I completely appreciate this, as I usually swing by here on my lunch. The office is clean and uses state-of-the-art technology. I could go on and on, but nothing the previous reviewers haven't mentioned! My initial visit consisted of a complimentary consultation for braces. I met with Sarah, the financial coordinator, and Dr. Phelps. The whole team made me feel that my concerns were their priority. I had a number of questions, as I was VERY apprehensive to getting adult braces, and Sarah and Dr. Phelps patiently answered all of them. Dr. Phelps was very honest with me and informed me of a few options that may work instead of braces (veneers, etc.). He provided me with the information I needed to do my own research about my options and did not push me to sign on to treatment with his office. This really impressed me, and built a lot of trust with Dr. Phelps and his team. They made ME and my goals their focus, not my money, and that was incredibly important to me. After my visit, I did my research. I still had questions, so Sarah and I were in constant contact via e-mail. She was very prompt and thorough. I decided to go with braces after all, and I couldn't be happier with my experience here with this team. I love that this office uses Damon Braces. I had no idea what these were until I went in for my consultation. There is plenty of information on the web about them and their benefits. The day I had my braces placed on, Terri, the RDA, was very informative and thorough on how to brush and clean my teeth and what to do in an emergency. Now that I have my braces on, it's not nearly as bad as I thought it would be. I encourage any adult out there that is considering braces to go for it! I had so much anxiety about getting them, but Dr. Phelps and his team made me that much more comfortable. I am FINALLY at ease. I feel completely positive that my teeth will be PERFECT once I am done with my treatment, as I know I am in the absolute best hands. Great job Phelps & Cohen on your amazing business! I look forward to every visit with this office!

Jul 2014

Review from Steven N.


This is by far one of the best orthodontics i have been to, Everything is great like the staff is really nice and understanding. Dr. Cohen is a really nice person and has a sense of humor, he made me feel more relaxed during the procedure and everything. They use the latest technology like the damon system braces and panoramic x-ray.

May 2014

Review from Christina M.


Been VERY happy with this place since phone call from day 1 in Oct 2013. My daughter who was 10 now 11 needed braces on the top to correct 1 tooth on top that was displacing 2 teeth on the bottom. We were not coming here to straighten her teeth, but only to correct a problem that in the end could cause serious damage to adult teeth. Our friends 2 kids had excellent results and recommended this place. Thank you friends! We have had excellent and caring customer service from ALL the employees and Dr. My daughter loves coming here at appointment time. AND it only took about a month for the tooth to change position correctly. I was shocked. Yes she still has them on as the treatment plan is 9 months to make sure the tooth stays set of course. Well all other teeth are straight and look great! She barley has any pain or soreness after each appointment. Office is extremely clean, they have cold bottle water in mini fridge and tea in waiting area, wifi, and your greeted with beautiful smiles when you arrive and depart. Highly recommend!

Mar 2014

Review from Nicki l.


This place is AMAZING! Our wonderful Dentist Dr. John Smaha recommended them. I am so very pleased with everything in this office. The office is beautiful, the staff is so nice, there is never a wait time, and Dr. Cohen is the BEST! I can remember back to when I had braces and it was not any great experience, well, my daughter is so excited to go there every time. The kids collect points and can turn them in for a variety of things including movie tickets. I am so pleased that we found Phelps & Cohen! I highly recommend this office!

Feb 2014

Review from Christina K.


If you need an Orthodontist - GO HERE!!! Awesome service, great communication, not crazy expensive - they work with you and make it a good experience for you and your family. Thanks!!!

Jan 2014

Review from J S.


WOW! The never ending search for orthodontists continue! I was referred here by a friend whose daughter goes here and I can totally see why. I made a complimentary consultation and luckily they had a cancellation, so my child could be seen earlier rather than later. First off, they were extremely professional on the phone and had me fill out the paperwork online so they could get all the insurance info ready after our examination was done. They had all the latest technology and took complimentary pics/X-rays of the teeth. Dr Cohen was friendly and informative using the latest new braces called Damon systems which are less painful than the traditional old rubber band method. He explained everything and took his time to answer our questions. They even gave us a folder with the prices broken down, a pamphlet on the Damon braces, and other educational info. The staff was friendly, and the office functioned efficiently, the way you would expect a medical/dental business should. They gave my child 2 boxes of mints to practice putting his tongue on the roof of his mouth to swallow vs his front teeth. Yes, he's a tongue thruster. and they wanted him to practice right away to stop the bad habit. Our experience was wonderful and prices were competitive with other orthodontists, we are definitely considering this practice as a top contender!!

Jan 2014

Review from Sara T.


My current retainer that I had for 10 years, was starting to come off and was poking my tongue, which was really irritating. I yelped orthodontics and noticed that this place had great reviews. So I called for an appointment and they said I could come in the same day. I walked in and the staff was very friendly and took care of me right away. I left within 30 minutes and they put a new compress and took care of me FOR NO CHARGE! I highly recommend this place, nice staff, and they know what they are doing!

Dec 2013

Review from Hope S.


I had the glue break on one of my bottom teeth on my bonded retainer that I've had for years, and needed it repaired so I hit up Yelp to find an orthodontist. I'm new to the area and didn't know where to go, but I liked the reviews I read on this place so decided to give them a try. They were able to schedule me for the next day, and I love that they give you a free consultation for new clients! No pressure, and they gave me several options on what I could do with my retainer. My insurance doesn't cover orthodontic work, so I went with the least expensive option. It was a quick fix at a price I could afford, and my tooth feels great with a nice and smooth glue job. Also, Dr. Cohen was extremely pleasant, and I wouldn't hesitate to come back here if I need more work done in the future. I walked away feeling good, and it really gave me some holiday cheer to have such an unexpected and positive visit at the orthodontist when it's usually something I do not look forward to in the slightest.

Nov 2013

Review from Natasha H.


Phelps and Cohen are awesome. They helped me when I decided to get braces as an adult several years back. I was so impressed with my experience/results that I brought my daughter in when it was time for her check-up and treatment. The 5 stars are well deserved for many reasons: 1) Phelps and Cohen are fabulous because of their expertise and focus on their customers, 2) visits are on time...we rarely wait for more than a few mins before being seen, 3) the staff is friendly and helpful, 4) the site is great - decorated nicely, drinks, kid activities and plenty of up to date magazines/reading materials and 5) wonderful rewards/ recognition system for kids that complete ortho milestones. If you are in need of ortho help, I highly recommend Phelps and Cohen! Great team, great experience, great results!

Oct 2013

Review from Sharon P.


My current orthodontists who have really given me good care on my teeth, their staff is also very sweet and intelligent. I got my braces on march 7, 2013 and I guess I'm getting used to it lol. Can't wait for the perfect teeth by the time I graduate college :)

Oct 2013

Review from K Z.


Great orthodontist team and staff!!! Very organized and professional office.

Jul 2013

Review from Rochelle V.


First visit this morning for my daughter, SO happy! Finally found the right orthodontist and Dr. Phelps is so incredibly helpful and understanding! Thank you Dr. Phelps!!!!!

Jan 2013

Review from Satnam B.


I came here for a second opinion as my daughter will need braces and surgery. The previous orthodontist stated that they would do the surgery first and braces put on afterwards. After a consultation visit with Dr Phelps he stated that braces would need to be put on first for 1-1.5 years, surgery and then braces again afterwards for about 6months-1year. Phelps & Cohen uses the Damon brace system which are easier to clean and work better than conventional braces, more info at damonbraces.com Dr Phelps also took an x-ray and referred me to a Maxofacial surgeon at Kaiser Santa Clara to discuss the procedure. I met with Dr Williams recently and the explained the the procedure, post op care, risks and benefits since it is an elective surgery to correct the bite. I really appreciated the upfront honesty and professionalism extended by the team at Phelps and Cohen. Suffice to say I will be going with them for my daughters braces next summer as she will need to have her wisdom teeth pulled prior. Phelps & Cohen also never charges for emergency visits and are attentive to patient needs, questions and have staff that care. If your looking for braces this is the place to go. Nice airy office, professional staff and they are open on Saturdays, 1 day per month. 5 stars.

Jan 2013

Review from Doug H.


I just finished 2 years of orthodontics with Phelps & Cohen and I cannot speak highly enough with how great this office is. My primary doctor was Dr. Cohen and he's a true professional. I knew what he was doing throughout the process as he always gave me updates of my progress, the next steps and took great care to explain what all of that meant...unbelievable in this very past paced world we live in. The staff was always accommodating as "emergencies" arose through the process; always willing to squeeze me and always considerate of my time. Oh, and did I say they are warm and friendly. No pun intended but they always had smiles. I originally found this office through Yelp and avoided the orthodontist my dentist referred me to because of what I read here. I don't often use Yelp or post reviews. This review is a no brainer: Best service ever!

Dec 2012

Review from Khiet E.


I came to see Dr. Phelps because I wanted to get a second opinion. I'm so glad I did! Dr. Phelps told me exactly what I needed and what I didn't need. He save me so much money. I didn't end up needing braces. I just needed a retainer. He was very nice and professional. I'm glad I found him on Yelp. I like that the office was open really early at 7:30am, so I was able to go straight to work after. Office was very nice inside. All the staffs were also very sweet.

Dec 2012

Review from Shavaun P.


My daughter has been a patient of Phelps and Cohen for a few years now, and I have got to say they have delivered great results. I have been very happy with the level of care, the awesome customer service, the no nonsense approach to getting the process started and best of all the rapid results! At your consultation they gave me clear expectations and in my opinion they actually under sold, and over delivered. The doctor was very clear in explaining that my daughter may need to have more orthodontic treatment when she is older and explaining the options were if I wanted to wait or to start treatment sooner. I did my research and visited a few other doctors and everything the doctor told me added up. You will never sit to wait more than 5 minutes for your appointment. They have great intensives for the children to want take care of their teeth and to attend their appointments. Once the patient is in the "chair" they are working on them right away and finished before you know it. This is a big plus for parents with children that don't sit still for very long. The office is very high tech and offers every amenity possible. There is an open sink in the waiting area equipped with complementary tooth brushes and tooth paste for those last minute brushes. There were times I wished they were a little more explanatory of the process at the actual appointments overtime. They did explain everything very clearly in the beginning, but as time went on I would get slightly lost as to what part of the process we were on and sometimes felt slightly rushed. The doctors were always around and would answer any question I asked, just sometimes I wished they explained a little more without me asking. It might just be my inquisitive nature. I like to understand every detail. I do have to agree with some other reviewers regarding price. They are a little higher priced then the other offices we visited and there is no room for negotiation, but you get what you pay for. The price is also fully inclusive as stated, I have never been asked for a dollar more. They do offer in house, no interest, financing/payment plans. For some customers the no interest payment plan alone could make up for the price difference, compared to having to use a third party finance company that charges interest. After I received my quote from the doctor's office, I made a call to my insurance company. It seemed odd to me that the coverage/benefits from my insurance were exactly the same for "in network" and "out of network" orthodontists. I discovered that I was entitled to 20% discount off my quoted price since Phelps and Cohen was an "in network" provider with my insurance. The billing department was not aware of this and took a day to confirm this themselves. The billing department said that my insurance company is a subsidiary of the insurance company they had the "in network" agreement with and they were not aware that the companies were related. It made sense to me because I had never heard of this dental insurance company before either. They adjusted my quote and I was happy as a clam that I could afford to take my daughter there at that point. The before and after pictures are amazing. Now my daughter now has an amazing smile that is out of this world!

Aug 2012

Review from Helo B.


Best dental appointment I ever had in the bay area. To start with, the forms that we need to fill in are no-nonsense. For the initial appointment, they did not request my SSN and the only consent I had to sign was one authorizing them to share information with my other dentist. The appointment was very professional. After photos, X-ray and exam with their assistant, one of the doctors came for the final assessment and advice. Everything very well explained. I couldn't be happier.

Aug 2012

Review from Sarah H.


I am so impressed with this orthodontist office! One of my fears when going to an orthodontist is that they will say you need braces or orthodontic work regardless of if you actually do. Not this office. If you don't need braces, they will tell you, so you can trust them if they say you need them. In my case, he said I didn't need orthodontic work but was extremely helpful in helping my trouble shoot my jaw issues. Dr. Phelps was so dedicated to my case, he would personally call me (even on weekends!) to ask how I was feeling, how I was doing. He truly cares about his patients and gives individual attention. He is a very intelligent doctor who thinks through personal specifics. I was shocked at how much they knew me, my case, and their excellent communication. Even the office staff greeted me and were very friendlly. The staff, from the desk women to the assistants were all very nice and competent. The office itself is very beautiful, clean, and professional. You don't find an office and doctor like this, definitely exceeded expectations. Go talk to them, you won't regret it.

Jun 2012

Review from MaRy N.


They definitely know how to run a business in a very professional manner. I've never had much high expectations for any type of medical/dental visits. In every orthodontic visit for my braces, I never have to wait for more than five minutes. I've only almost come late once due to bad traffic and the receptionist did not give a bad attitude (as other places might generally do so). Also, they have a self check in system where you check in at a computer at the front desk and after your appointment is over, the receptionist will print out a nice reminder slip showing what they did on that particular visit and also when your next visit will be. This shows that they truly care about running a well-organized business, instead of a sloppy one. There's also coffee, water, or tea available in the waiting area. The entire place is very clean, even the bathroom. I went in for braces and they gave me an estimated time which was nearly accurate to when I actually removed my braces. I received so many warnings from people who had their braces in the past (not Phelps & Cohen customers) that stated the estimates are generally not as accurate and that orthodontists will try to push out the completion date for at least 4 or more months. This wasn't the case here. I was always in control of when I could take off my braces when I reached a certain point. I recently had mine taken off and when I did, they gave a champagne bottle and goodies. They also were extremely excited for me that my braces were being removed--unlike other places where the employees could care less what happens to you. Based on my observations, the employees seem to be happy working there. The orthodontists know what they are doing and when I've called a few times to ask questions, I would get a call back from the orthodontist on the same day. Overall, I'm happy to have had a great experience here as a customer as opposed to others I've spoken to who didn't have as great of an experience with theirs.

May 2012

Review from Charlene R.


Phelps & Cohen are the best. They are always on time, and so quick you don't even have time to read a magazine in the waiting room. Dr. Cohen did my son's braces and my own. We couldn't be more pleased. Thank you for the beautiful smiles. I would not hesitate to recommend them. They are truly the BEST!!

Apr 2012

Review from Robert G.


I rarely write reviews but when the service is exceptionally AWESOME, I have to express my gratitude and appreciation to Dr. Phelps & Cohen & staff. First, the office very nice, the staff are extremely friendly and caring. I can go on and on saying great things about Dr. Phelps & Cohen Orthodontics, one word to describe their service, STELLAR service!! I just got my braces off today, I was so overjoyed and literally had tears of joy afterwards. Years ago when some other dentist told me they couldn't fix my crooked teeth, I was so sad! Dr. Phelps & Cohen made it happen and I am forever grateful for taking care of me. They are truly the best around. The best service, professionalism, friendliest and care I received for the past two years, I am eternally grateful. I will miss going there every 6 weeks to have new wires put on, because they made me feel like home and something to look forward to. Thank you Guys!! You are amazingly the best!

Apr 2012

Review from Brian D.


I checked out everyone in the area-Hands down!!! Service,price,youth friendly environment,professional-this place is your orthodontic BOMB!!!! Will further comment soon with my story but after my daughter is done I am back for seconds with Dr.Phelps! I thank God and UCLA for him! :0

Feb 2012

Review from BoomBoomBaby Y.


All I have to say is they DID NOT have ortho offices like this when i had braces!!! This place is so cool....my daughters appts are only 10-15 min...and i wish they were longer so i could explore their office more ha ha!... I don't think my kids have EVER been so excited to go to a dentist! The dentist is very warm with the kids,.. and very helpful. The assistants and front desk are great too! He takes time always to answer mine AND my 10 yr olds questions :) I like that! I mark my appts in my iphone, but i like how they always give me my 48 hr confirmation call anyways :) A couple times Ive had to reschedule and they have been more than accommodating to fit us in when its convenient... Their office is super kid friendly and my daughter just 'cashed' in her tokens to get a lip gloss that she was very excited about :) They always have some sort of contest, along with the tokens, and hot chocolate and teas and those cute li water bottles! My daughters next appt, they are putting on her braces....she is so excited for to go back that she is actually marking X's on her calender at home counting down the days! Wow.....if I only had memories like that of my orthodontist!

Feb 2012

Review from Heather K.


Everyone here, from the receptionist to the wonderful Dr. Cohen and Dr. Phelps, are fabulous. They explain everything, they give you options and they care! My daughter never had a fear the second she stepped into the lobby and it's been enjoyable ever since. Thank you!!

Nov 2011

Review from Maureen T.


Medical appointments these days can be tough, but this medical office is wonderful! They are friendly and helpful and kind. The office is clean, updated and has all the latest technology. I am embarrassed to say that sometimes we have missed appointments accidentally. There is never the slightest sign of disapproval when they call me to reschedule. The office sends email reminders. I guess I should add that they are great orthodontists too - my children's teeth look great! As a busy parent, I HIGHLY recommend this office and can't think of one way it could improve - except maybe if they sent a limo to pick us up :)

Oct 2011

Review from Marla S.


What a GREAT place to go. nothing but great experience all the way around. Scheduling , waiting room, receptionists, doctors, etc. ALL great.

Aug 2011

Review from Phil A.


Drs. Phelps and Cohen treated both of my children, Matt & Jacquie. They did a great job. The office is bright, clean & modern. The staff is professional and friendly. They have great prizes for the patients if they keep their teeth clean, etc. They were affordable and did a great job

Jul 2011

Review from Monica D.


My son has been going to Phelps & Cohen for about a year. We love the office environment, the staff is very friendly and accomodating, and Dr. Cohen always takes the time to explain how the treatment is going and answer any questions we might have. Kids love the "tokens" that are redeemable for prizes.

Jun 2011

Review from Jana K.


I just had my braces removed today after ~2yrs. I had jaw surgery in conjunction with my braces, so I needed a little extra attention. However, I think they treat all their patients with extra special attention. The doctors and staff here are absolutely wonderful. Every time I came in I felt they listened to me, told me exactly what was going on, and made sure I was comfortable with the decisions in the process. Never once did I feel unsure about what was going on with my braces. I had visited a couple other orthodontists prior to picking Phelps and Cohen and I am glad I found them. My teeth look beautiful and the entire process was painless. I am so thankful for them for making adult braces such a positive experience.

Jun 2011

Review from Rhiannon L.


My daughter not only needs braces, but was born with deformed and missing teeth. When we realized that her adult teeth also were not going to come in in many spots, we started shopping for a good orthodontist. We went to SEVERAL places across the area talking to doctors and getting quotes. This is where we decided to go and this place has been amazing! The waiting room, the receptionists, the billing, the doctors - ALL great! Not only that but when my daughter's care did not total the amount we were quoted, the doctor called me himself to let me know to stop making payments until the next phase of her treatment plan because he didn't want to charge us too much. A friend of mine also has a daughter receiving orthodontic care here and I've never heard a bad thing about the place at all. I highly recommend them.

Jun 2011

Review from Jorge R.


Great staff.....Phelps & Cohen are awesome.....best place in town to get braces.....

Jan 2011

Review from S C.


Drs. Phelps and Cohen are great. They are very knowledgeable and patient. They will answer all your questions and explain all procedures very thoroughly. I understand the plan they have for my teeth, and my teeth are moving well. I am extremely happy with their service. Also everyone in the office is friendly and very professional.

Jun 2010

Review from James P.


Currently a patient hear and I love this place because the services are excellent with short wait time and the staffs are professional and friendly. Both Dr. Phelps and Cohen are very experienced and proficient, especially Dr Cohen who always provide feedbacks about my progress and a very detail oriented person and a super nice guy. The clinic has recently been remodeled so it's very clean and roomy with a contemporary touch.

Apr 2010

Review from Stephanie F.


Very friendly, always welcoming. My son has had his Damon braces off for almost two years and his teeth are gorgeous.

Apr 2010

Review from Van K.


If you're looking for an office to get braces, this is the place to go!! I've been a patient with Dr. Phelps and Cohen for the past 3 1/2 years now and I just recently got my braces off. My friend recommended me to get braces here and thanks to her, i love this office! The doctors and staff here are very welcoming, friendly, caring and helpful to their patients. I had to do jaw surgery that was required with the braces and they went over what my treatment would be like if i do decide to do the surgery. When I went to other orthodontist office, they didn't do that for me so i didn't know what to expect and was scared. Dr. Phelps asked me to bring in my parents with me so he could show us the results of other patients that had similar case as mine. When my dad and I came in, he slowly went over different cases and told me more about the treatment, which I became more aware of and comfortable. This also led me to my decision that I wanted to do the surgery. I had my braces on for almost 4 years, due to the surgery. Dr. Cohen always kept me on check and let me know when I was ready for surgery. Both Dr. Phelps and Cohen are excellent, super friendly,caring and professional doctors. The would always tell you how the treatment is doing and how much longer you have left with brace. The staffs are also very friendly and professional. Every time I come in to my appointments, they all have smiles on their faces. The assistants are cool too. I would have nice conversations with them. :) Last summer, I went through the surgery and had to stay one night at the hospital. When I got home, Dr. Phelps and Cohen and staff sent me flowers, whichit made my day and thought it was very sweet of them. I didn't expect getting anything from them at all. This just shows that they absolutely care about their patients. Even though the whole treatment it was a bit expensive and I had to where the braces for almost 4 years, it was all worth it! They did a SUPER AMAZING job on my teeth! They were precise, careful and were very patient. OH! and they just remodeled and extended their office, so its a lot bigger and very nice. They have a lot of patients, but is organized with their scheduling. I never had to wait no longer than 5 mins! They also work well with your busy schedule too. I tend to reschedule my appointments sometimes(sorry!!), but they would be nice about it and understandable. Unlike some office, they may give you an attitude or be rude about it. They also have complimentary bottled waters, coffee, pencils, mints and more! For the kids, they give out tokens if you take good care of your teeth and the tokens can be traded in for prizes! i got some too! haha. Also, they do fun small contests such as guessing how many erasers there are in the jar. Finally, the best part was when I got my braces off and to top it off, they surprised me with a bottle of sparkling cider with a bag of goodies!(candies and popcorn). Also, they let you choose the color for your retainer and they had a lot of different colors to choose from! Thanks to Dr. Phelps & Cohen, my teeth never looked soo pretty and straight! I have no regrets and I guaranteed you will have the same great experience here like i had! Thanks again Dr. Phelps & Cohen!

Dec 2009

Review from Leigh M.


My husband and I have both been patients here in the last few years. We love their down-to-earth friendly office approach. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I love that they welcome new patients by writing their names up on the board so you can see who is new. Billing was easy and error-free throughout. Having had braces on for the first time back in the late 70's, I appreciate the tag-team approach by Drs Phelps and Cohen and recommend them highly.

Nov 2009

Review from Dianna R.


My dentist gave me two orthos to check out. My daughter at the time was a 12 yr old who was a 'little' dentist shy. So I was looking for warm & fuzzy. Checked out the 1st place & was not feeling it. Came to Phelps & Cohen and knew that this was the place for me. Made my 'dentist shy' daughter feel comfortable. Always on time, great with emergencies (like when a soccer ball smashed into my daughters face & her wire came off) Very professional & at the same time very friendly & personable. Definitely a farther drive for me the mom taxi...but SOOOO worth it.

Nov 2009

Review from Skye L.


Dr. Phelps and Dr. Cohen are the best! I am an adult patient with a busy schedule and they always fit me in (especially when I break a wire). State of the art care and super caring. Everyone there does an excellent job at maintaining client base.

Feb 2009

Review from Sharon H.


The best office I've been to in a long time. The staff is great. Dr. Phelps and Cohen are nice and explain things very well. My son has been to the office three times for evaluations. He hasn't needed braces so far and I haven't pulled a dollar out of my pocket.

Jan 2009

Review from Stephen G.


I used to have braces years ago, and was upset to have to get them again for a second phase. I started at the office back in July '06, when I was 13, and August 14, 2008, I finally got them off. Dr. Phelps and Dr. Cohen are by far the nicest and most caring doctors I've ever had. They're extremely friendly and will answer any questions. The service is extremely fast as well. in all the years I was there, I never had to wait even more than 2 minutes to get seated. I highly recommend them, since the atmosphere is relaxing and cheerful. Just yesterday I was there because my retainer was bent, and when I was concerned that I couldn't fit on back on my own, they didn't mind me coming back in a panic and actually showing me the proper way to put it in :D Phelps and Cohen is by far the best place to go for braces

May 2008

Review from Tina H.


My original plan was to get quotes from a couple of orthodontic offices before making a decision! Well, after "1" visit to Phelps & Cohen, I was "sold"! :) ALL of the staff is super friendly and personable! They have coffee, tea, hot chocolate, & bottled water available for their clients. Stickers, small toys, pencils, mints, and fun contests for the kids, always on the go. There is a "Welcome" board, where they welcome the newest clients to their office. They explain what the overall plan of action is... they explain what they are doing on each visit... and they explain what the next step is... and they are always ready to answer any questions you may have. I myself had braces on years ago... and I can honestly say that my service back then was NOTHING compared to the service & professionalism this office has to offer! In fact, I can't think of any medical / dental type office that has ever matched the customer service of this office! If an appointment is missed... they happily re-book it for you, without reprimanding you (although, I'm so sorry for my missed appointments! ;) With my hectic life, a confirmation call the day before my appointment would probably work wonders ;) I highly recommend this office!

May 2008

Review from Erin K.


Four of my children are under the care of Drs Phelps and Cohen and all have had excellent treatment and enjoy coming to the office. The staff is professional, friendly and helpful. The office is pleasant and enjoyable and they always have a fun contest or something going on for the kids. I trust Drs. Phelps and Cohen to make the best decisions for my childrens' teeth and wouldn't go anywhere else.

Feb 2008

Review from Melissa P.


I've had braces before and hated the fact that I had to get them again. But going to Phelps & Cohen has truly eased the experience and both Dr Phelps and Dr. Cohen are nice and honest about your experience and they really help you in every way.

Jan 2008

Review from Jennifer C.


I LOVE Phelps and Cohen!!! I'm a 35 year old mom, first timer with braces. I REALLY ENJOY going to my orthodontist, Dr. Cohen. The previous reviews about how friendly and professional the staff is definitely true. I missed a couple appointments because I didn't have childcare (one time my 2 year old was having a tantrum at the office and I had to leave) and they were so nice about it and did not charge me. From the beginning, I could tell the office had a good vibe and it seemed like a high end operation if there is such a thing for getting braces. It is very high tech - you check in by putting your thumbprint on a touch pad thingy and there's a laptop at each chair where they enter your patient info. Have a really modern looking xray machine too - not that i know much about these types of things. The whole place is pretty cheery and bright - they have these special light covers over the flourescent lights so you have something to look at while they are working on your braces. They seem to care about little details to help you feel comfortable. I should also mention how great the woman who helps you with the financial stuff is ("Vi" i think is her name). She was great about helping me with insurance paperwork and helping me claim my ortho on my Flexible Spending Account. I have never had to wait more than 5 minutes for my appointments, and I always get to talk with Dr. Cohen who is so good about being thorough and answers all my inane questions (do i have to wear a headgear??). He never makes you feel like he's trying to rush you out like some doctors/dentists do. I believe both Phelps and Cohen attended UCLA for dental school. I really trust this place and really feel like i made the right choice in choosing Dr. Cohen as my orthodontist.

Oct 2007

Review from Eva Z.


What a great experience! Phelps and Cohen is THE place to go. The office environment is AWESOME--you can tell everyone really enjoys working there. They're professional, friendly and totally fun! There's great music and entertaining games to get you through the months of treatment. It really made the whole process pleasant...maybe even enjoyable! P&C uses the latest technology in orthodontics and everything is computerized. Dr. Cohen and Dr. Phelps are absolutely the best. No doubt. Believe me, I shopped around before choosing an orthodontist. I'm so happy that I made the right choice! Make an appointment for a consultation...You will NOT be disappointed.

Aug 2007

Review from Penny R.


Drs. Phelps and Cohen are simply the best. The staff is friendly and gentle (and for those of us who wear braces, a very good recommendation). When I first went to them they were very realistic with the time it would take to solve my issues, I am an adult but the office serves both children and adults. I never felt out of place. They work with my Dentist so I don't have to interpret what's going on. Now, I have my million dollar smile along with a corrected bite. Sound too good to be true? Call them and go for a visit, you will be impressed. And no I am not related to either of these very capable Doctors!

Working Hours

MONDAY : 9:00 am - 12:00 pm, 2:00 pm - 6:00 pm

TUESDAY - WEDNESDAY : 8:30 am - 12:00 pm, 1:30 pm - 5:30 pm

THURSDAY : 8:30 am - 12:00 pm, 1 pm - 5:00 pm

*1st Friday of each month: 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

*3rd Friday of each month: 9:00 am – 12:00 pm, 1 pm – 4:00 pm

*These dates are subject to change due to holidays and doctor availability.


Contact Details

Phelps & Cohen Orthodontics

Main Office (San Jose - Rosegarden area) 2075 Forest Avenue, Suite 2, San Jose, CA 95128

408-298-3433 | 408-298-6304 | [email protected]

For Emergencies (After Call Hours) : 408-500-1027

Working Hours

*1st Friday of each month: 2:00 pm - 5:00 pm

*These dates are subject to change due to holidays and doctor availability.


Contact Details

Phelps & Cohen Orthodontics

Satellite Office (San Jose - Evergreen area) 3151 S. White Road, Suite 104, San Jose, CA 95148

408-298-3433 | 408-298-6304 | [email protected]

For Emergencies (After Call Hours) : 408-500-1027

Working Hours

WEDNESDAY: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm

LUNCH: 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm

*3rd Saturday of each month: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm


Contact Details

Phelps & Cohen Orthodontics

Satellite Office (Los Gatos) 15827 Los Gatos Blvd, Suite B, Los Gatos, CA 95032

408-298-3433 | 408-298-6304 | [email protected]

For Emergencies (After Call Hours) : 408-500-1027